National HIV estimates file

Every year, the UNAIDS secretariat compiles estimates of HIV prevalence from countries. The estimates are based on national Spectrum files that are developed and maintained by a country team of experts. UNAIDS has made these files public to allow greater transparency in how the global estimates are derived. Permission to make the files public was requested from countries in August 2013 (June 2013 for 21 EMTCT priority countries). Some countries have chosen not to share the files or have not created Spectrum files in 2013. Those countries are listed on the right.

The Spectrum files are complex and should only be used by individuals who are familiar with the software and the process of creating the files.

To gain access to the files please complete the below form. The UNAIDS secretariat manages access to the country files on the basis of the proposed objective of their use by the applicant. We highly recommend that any researchers using these files contact the estimates team in the countries to be included in their analysis to identify a suitable co-author. Please contact to be connected with the country teams. In addition, we recommend that manuscripts published based on the use of these files should be shared with the countries included in any analysis before publication. As a courtesy, please send a copy to as well.

If you simply need the data produced by these files please visit

There are important instructions on how to use the results from the files in the attached document. Please read this document before using the estimates files

For any questions please contact

Related links

Countries not available for download

  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Central African Republic
  • Chile
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Republic of Korea
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • Spain
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America